

Mike Keller, President, called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Denise Becker, Wendy Byard, Peggy Bush, Mike Keller, Mike Nolan, Jonathan Nugent, Gary Oyster

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Members of the Rolland-Warner Student Council led the Board and audience in the pledge of allegiance.

INTRODUCTION OF NEW TEACHERS/ADMINISTRATORS

Superintendent Matt Wandrie introduced the following new teachers: Kaili Burgess; Kristen Hansen; Kelly Holland; Monica Martin; Kelly Orlando; and Elizabeth Turvill. He also introduced Jennifer Tindall, Director of Special Education and Student Services, and Ryan West, Assistant Principal at Rolland-Warner. Other new teachers/administrators were unable to attend due to prior commitments.

PRESENTATION

Rolland-Warner Principal Jen Taylor along with teachers Andrea Brunett, Barb Bennett, Darlene Gannon, Mike Wiltse, and Sally Wolfer presented information about Rolland-Warner Middle School. Their focus is on student growth and achievement.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Brenna Sabo addressed the Board of Education.

ACTION ITEMS

Consent Items

- 1. That the meeting minutes from the September 5, 2013 Board of Education Meeting be approved as presented.
- 2. That the meeting minutes from the September 19, 2013 Special Meeting be approved as presented.
- 3. That the meeting minutes from the September 19, 2013 Work Session be approved as presented.
- 4. That the request for the District 8th graders to travel to Washington DC on November 2-7, 2014 be approved.
- 5. That Policy 8453.01 Control of Blood-Borne Pathogens be approved for first reading.

Moved by Mrs. Bush, supported by Mrs. Byard, that reading of the minutes and policy be waived and the consent agenda items be approved as presented. Roll call: Becker-aye; Bush-aye; Byard-aye; Keller-aye; Nolan-aye; Nugent-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 7-0.

BOARD MEMBER COMMENTS

Mr. Nolan stated that he pleased to be back on the Board of Education. Board members thanked Rolland-Warner staff for their commitment to the students and commented their collaborative teaching methods will make the namesakes of the building, Ron Warner and Doris Rolland, proud.

Mr. Nugent shared that he had the privilege to attend the mascot meeting that Matt Wandrie held at East High School with 60 student representatives. Also present were teachers, athletic directors, principals and coaches from both schools.

He was impressed with the maturity of the students. They were positive, very respectful to each other, and willing to compromise. The students have spoken to over 4,500 alumni, parents, students and staff regarding the future Mascot. He is very pleased with the process that was followed.

Mrs. Byard moved to convene a special meeting at 6:45 PM on October 17 for discussion and conclusion of the Lapeer High School mascot search. Mr. Oyster supported the motion. Roll call: Becker-aye; Bush-aye; Byard-aye; Keller-aye; Nolan-aye; Nugent-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 7-0.

SUPERINTENDENT COMMENTS

Mr. Wandrie thanked Mrs. Taylor and her staff for the wonderful work they are doing with the students at Rolland-Warner. He attended the harvesting of honey at Rolland-Warner held earlier in the day and was pleased with the learning experience for the students. They are not only learning the science component, but business, marketing and salesmanship.

He stated that his engagement with the students at the mascot meeting was impressive. He is very proud of the depth of understanding and maturity shown by the students. They brought up ideas that the he had not even considered. He is in the process of finalizing his recommendation to the Board. He will present his recommendation at the special meeting scheduled to take place prior to the Work Session on October 17.

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Mrs. Bush, supported Mr. Oyster, that the meeting be adjourned. Roll call: Becker-aye; Bush-aye; Byard-aye; Keller-aye; Nolan-aye; Nugent-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 7-0. Meeting adjourned at 8:13 PM.

Peggy Bush, Board of Education Secretary